Tuesday, March 31, 2015

preliminary sketch of a wall of speakers for a production of BUDDY: THE BUDDY HOLLY STORY for Casa Mañana. I'm hoping the props master can start the wall with real vintage pieces and build others to match my research.

Monday, March 30, 2015

still working on my design for UNCOMMON WOMEN AND OTHERS by Wendy Wasserstein for Atlantic Acting School. Still not quite there yet.

Sunday, March 29, 2015


as seen in the Yale University Art Gallery this afternoon. I'm using a high school chemistry book as my canvas.

Saturday, March 28, 2015

still developing my design for UNCOMMON WOMEN for Atlantic Acting School. Not quite there yet...



Friday, March 27, 2015

as part of my teaching at Connecticut College I'm working with students to develop 'dream designs' for student-written plays. I'm guiding them through the design process. This is for a play called OF THE BEAST by Leila Teitleman.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015





Amtrak to and from Boston



Monday, March 23, 2015


waiting on trains, as usual

Sunday, March 22, 2015



Waiting on an Amtrak at New Haven Union Station

Wednesday, March 18, 2015


Theatre Wit's production of BURNING BLUEBEARD designed by Dan Broberg. I  attended this play back in January in Chicago.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015


from an exhibit in the Yale University Art Gallery. I regret to say I did not write down the artist's name, but he was a deceased Mexican propagandist. 




discarded ideas for Wendy Wasserstein's UNCOMMON WOMEN AND OTHERS 

Monday, March 16, 2015




refining ideas for play called GRUESOME PLAYGROUND INJURIES

Sunday, March 15, 2015



showing caster options to the director of an upcoming production of GRUESOME PLAYGROUND INJURIES at Connecticut College

Saturday, March 14, 2015

these are copied from a New Yorker cartoon. I lost the magazine on the subway and can't recall the cartoonist's name. My current drawing canvas is a recently discovered high school chemistry book.

Friday, March 13, 2015

rough sketch for my design of UNCOMMON WOMEN AND OTHERS for Atlantic Acting School.
The play takes place in a dorm at Mount Holyoke College in 1970. Oh, and the budget is a whopping $800
last night I saw POSTERITY at Atlantic Theater Company. Set design by Derek McLane

Wednesday, March 11, 2015







for a project in development called Port Cities NYC. Rough sketches to polished sketches

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

sketch of my design for BUDDY: THE BUDDY HOLLY STORY at Casa Manana in Fort Worth Texas. It goes up in May. I'm working on the color model this week.

Monday, March 9, 2015

rough subway sketch on used paper for an installation on a Red Hook pier. The project is called Port Cities NYC and will hopefully go up this fall.

Sunday, March 8, 2015


My sketch from intermission at AN OCTOROON at Theatre for a New Audience. Wonderful set design by Mimi Lien: http://www.mimilien.com

Friday, March 6, 2015

Thursday, March 5, 2015


some rough sketches from the tech table. These are some of Moria Clinton's costume designs for Peerless at Cherry Lane.
The top image is done on top an older sketch of a set for THE NUTCRACKER.


My final design for a play called PEERLESS that opened at Cherry Labe last night.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

this week I'm working on the set design for BUDDY: THE BUDDY HOLLY STORY for a theatre called Casa Mañana in Fort Worth, Texas

Tuesday, March 3, 2015


some subway sketches of FUERZA BRUTA WAYRA. The creative/artistic director is Diqui James, and there's no specific designer listed on their website. The piece is spectacle at its finest.